You are here: » Vision Research » Vision in the European Focus » 2018 » Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research

Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research

Call for Nominations - 2020

The Helen Keller Foundation for Research and Education is accepting nominations for the 2020 Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research, presented in partnership with BrightFocus Foundation.  Established in 1994, the Helen Keller Prize is one of the most prestigious and coveted awards presented in the field of vision research.

Worldwide nominations are hereby requested that recognize research excellence as demonstrated by a number of significant contributions to vision science during the course of a career or for a single contribution of exceptional importance to vision science.  Submitted materials required are two independently written letters of nomination describing the contributions of the nominee and his/her impact on visual science and/or eye care. Each letter should not exceed three pages.  The candidate's bio-sketch (NEI or abbreviated CV, six page maximum) should be included as well.  Nominations should be sent electronically to: lbeckwith[at], no later than January 31, 2019.  The independent Prize Selection Committee includes scientists and physicians who are leading figures in the international ophthalmic community.

Helen Keller Laureates

  • 2018 – Webster Cavenee, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego; Thaddeus P. Dryja, M.D., Harvard    University; Brenda L. Gallie, M.D., University of Toronto and A. Linn Murphree, M.D., University of Southern California
  • 2017 - Gerrit Melles, M.D., Ph.D., Netherlands Institute for Innovative Ocular Surgery
  • 2016 - Dean Bok, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
  • 2015 - Gordon Legge, Ph.D., University of Minnesota and Robert W. Massof, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
  • 2014 - Emily Y. Chew, M.D., National Eye Institute and Frederick L. Ferris III, M.D., National Eye Institute
  • 2013 - László Bitó, Ph.D., Columbia University
  • 2011 - Endre A. Balazs, M.D., Columbia University
  • 2010 - Claes H. Dohlman, M.D., Ph.D., Harvard University
  • 2009 - Hugh R. Taylor, AC, Melbourne University
  • 2008 - Joram Piatigorsky, Ph.D., National Eye Institute
  • 2007 - Johannes W. Rohen, M.D., University of Erlangen Nurnberg and Elke Lütjen-Drecoll, M.D., University of Erlangen Nurnberg
  • 2006 - Judah Folkman, M.D., Harvard Medical School; Children's Hospital Boston
  • 2005 - Alfred Sommer, M.D., M.H.S., Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • 2004 - Alan Bird, M.D., Institute of Ophthalmology, University of London
  • 2003 - David Maurice, Ph.D., Columbia University
  • 2002 - Anders Bill, M.D., Ph.D., Uppsala University
  • 2001 - Donald Gass, M.D., Vanderbilt University
  • 2000 - John E. Dowling, Ph.D., Harvard University
  • 1999 - Lorenz Zimmerman, M.D., Armed Forces Institute of Pathology
  • 1998 - Norman Ashton, CBE, FRS, D.Sc., Institute of Ophthalmology, University of London
  • 1997 - Robert Machemer, M.D., Duke University
  • 1996 - Torsten Wiesel, M.D., Rockefeller University and David Hubel, M.D., Harvard University
  • 1995 - Bernard Becker, M.D., Washington University in St. Louis
  • 1994 - Arnall Patz, M.D., Johns Hopkins University

More information about the Helen Keller Foundation and the Helen Keller Prize for Vision Research on the website