You are here: » Vision Research » Vision in the European Focus » 2017 » New Chairman Of

Internationally renowned Clinician Scientist Hendrik Scholl elected as Chairman of

The announced today the election of Prof. Hendrik Scholl as the Chairman of for the next three years, succeeding Prof. José-Alain Sahel.

Hendrik Scholl is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, University of Basel, Switzerland, and Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology at the Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, United States. He specializes in medical and surgical management of retinal diseases such as age-related macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy. He has a specific expertise in inherited retinal and macular degenerations and has published more than 100 peer-reviewed original and review articles on the topic. Prof. Scholl has received numerous awards including the European Vision Award, the ARVO Foundation/Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Award and the President’s Award from the American Society of Retina Specialists. He has been serving as the Coordinator of the Expert Committee on Retinal Dystrophies of

In a statement about his new role of the Chairman of, Prof. Scholl said “Academic networks have been playing an increasingly important role in clinical research in ophthalmology. Efficiency is enhanced and costs reduced by having a single ongoing infrastructure conducting multiple studies across Europe. The network allows to greatly shorten the start-up time to implement new trials from the inception of the concept for the trial to initiation of recruitment”. in brief

The European Vision Institute Clinical Research Network is a network of European Ophthalmological Clinical Research Sites, dedicated to perform multinational clinical research in ophthalmology with the highest standards of quality, following the European and International Directives for Clinical Research according to harmonized SOPs. As a network it strengthens the capacity of the European Union to study the determinants of ophthalmic diseases and to develop and optimise the use of diagnostic, prevention and treatment strategies in ophthalmology. Coordinating Centre is located at AIBILI, in Coimbra, Portugal. At present, has 101 Clinical Site Members from 15 European Countries. is scientifically organized in Expert Committees: Age-Related Macular Degeneration; Retinal Dystrophies; Diabetic Retinopathy & Vascular Diseases; Glaucoma; Anterior Segment; and Ocular Surface, Inflammation, Dry-Eye & Allergies. There are also Transversal Sections on Medical Devices; Rare Diseases and Reading Centres.

The Steering Committee is composed by the Chairman, Prof. Hendrik Scholl (Switzerland), the Coordinators of each Expert Committee and Transversal Section, Prof. Francesco Bandello (Italy), Prof. José Cunha-Vaz (Portugal), Prof. Francesca Cordeiro (UK), Prof. Marie-José Tassignon (Belgium), Prof. Marc D. de Smet (Switzerland), Prof. Tunde Peto (UK), Prof. Jorge Alió (Spain), Prof. Birgit Lorenz (Germany) and the CEO, Dr. Cecília Martinho (Portugal).

For more information please visit