You are here: » Vision Research » Vision in the European Focus » 2014 » Three ARVO Achievement Awards 2014 go to the EU

Three ARVO Achievement Awards 2014 go to the EU

The ARVO Achievement Awards honor individuals for their exceptional contributions to ophthalmology and visual science. All awards are presented during the ARVO Annual Meeting each May. Nominations for the prestigious awards are open to all members of the vision research community. There are no membership or geographical restrictions for nominees or nominators.

Weisenfeld Award

Jose Cunha-Vaz

The Weisenfeld Award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology.

The Awardee 2014 is Jose Cunha-Vaz, MD, PhD
The Association for Innovation and Biomedical Research on Light and Image (ALIBILI)

ARVO 2014 lecture: Phenotypes and biomarkers of diabetic retinopathy

Jose Cunha-Vaz is recognized as a prolific innovator in ophthalmic research for his work over the past four and a half decades as well as his important contributions to scientific and clinical literature. He has been a leader in many organizations and institutions, including his time as chief editor of Ophthalmologica, president of the European Society of Retinal Specialists and dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Coimbra. He inaugurated an impressive list of ophthalmic institutions, such as The Association for Innovation and Biomedical Research on Light and Image (AIBILI), a non-profit organization in Portugal that houses a clinical trials center. Cunha-Vaz has received a large number of awards, honors and prizes and his publications list includes over 460 citations.

Joanne G. Angle Award

Martine J. Jager

The Awardee 2014 is Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD, FARVO
Leiden University Medical Center

Former ARVO president, Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD, FARVO, has been selected for the 2014 Joanne G. Angle Award for her contribution to ARVO. The Angle Award is ARVO’s highest service honor, recognizing outstanding leaders who have made significant, continuous contributions to ARVO. Jager has served ARVO since 1998. She is a Gold Fellow, was ARVO’s first international president and served on several committees, including those for the Annual Meeting Program, Advocacy, Professional Development and Education, International Members and Long Range Planning. She has played a key role in ARVO’s International Chapter Affiliate program, including serving as chair of the Chapter Affiliate Council. Jager is a member of the ARVO Foundation’s Dowling Society, thanks to her decade-long support of the G. M. Jager Travel Grant. She is also active on the Women in Eye and Vision Research Leadership Committee. She has served on the editorial board of IOVS and as a mentor for Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowship recipients since 2009.

Distinguished Service Award

Peng Tee Khaw

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to elected ARVO officers and editors-in-chief upon completion of their terms, in appreciation for dedicated service to ARVO.

The Awardee 2014 is Peng Tee Khaw, MD, PhD, FARVO
NIHR Biomedical Research Centre, Moorfields Eye Hospital/UCL Institute Ophthalmology
Immediate Past President

Further Information

ARVO is the largest and most respected eye and vision research organization in the world. Our members include more than 12,750 researchers from over 80 countries. ARVO encourages and assists research, training, publication and knowledge-sharing in vision and ophthalmology.